Talking about books, not reviewing them………

I never had any intention of reviewing books on my blog as there are marvellous book reviewers out there already, but I still want to talk about books.

I’ve just finished Asking For It by Louise O’Neill, published by Quercus books on 3rd September. I woke this morning at 10, after having a migraine yesterday and obviously needing some extra sleep. (Never sleep that late usually!) It was still lingering in my head after reading 50 pages last night.
I haven’t moved for nearly 3 hours, apart from getting up and making a cup of coffee and popping for a wee!

IMG_0406
I truly love a book that makes you feel like you’ve been hit with a sledgehammer, and Asking For It is one of those books.

I’m in that state now when I’m not quite sure if I can pick another book up today or even tomorrow….I might have to suffice with Marie Claire magazine or a box set.

Here are some other books that have had a similar affect on me this year, and all for various reasons.

The first is All Involved by Ryan Gattis, published by Picador. This is a sledgehammer book for me because it is unlike anything I’ve ever read before. I was left reeling for days afterwards, the characters going round and round in my head. I’ve recommended this to so many people, including a 68-year-old female client of mine who was astounded that ‘this young man had written such a remarkable piece of literature’ based on true events.

Another sledgehammer book for me is The Last Act of Love by Cathy Rentzenbrink published by Picador. This affected me for very personal reasons and I’ve recommended it to many. It’s a book that I feel changes your outlook on life.

A couple of other sledgehammer books for me read this year are, The Versions Of Us by Laura Barnett published by W&N and, Letters To The Lost by Iona Grey published by Simon and Schuster. These, because they restored my faith in love and both made me sob! You’ve got to love a book that reduces you to a weeping mess! Ask anyone who knows me well about my dating history and you’ll know why these books affected me as they did!!!!

So coming back to Asking For It. It was a tumultuous read. It’s made me feel angry, sad, shocked, and sick at times. I have shouted out loud. It is a truly powerful read because it is so so real.
I feel like Louise O’Neill is today’s hardcore equivalent of Judy Blume, dealing with controversial adolescent issues.
Louise O’Neill is an outstanding  writer, and as with Only Ever Yours writes so clearly about today’s modern society

Talking about books, not reviewing them………

7 thoughts on “Talking about books, not reviewing them………

  1. I love it when I discover a sledgehammer book, although I keep a pile of what I hope will be less demanding (enjoyable in a different way) works for when the book hangover kicks in 🙂

    Like

  2. Got both of Louise O’Neills high up on the wishlist & thinking they’d be great pressies for my teenager daughter & her friends… but obviously need to read ahem check them first 😉

    Hope you’re feeling better x

    Like

  3. Have had Only Ever Yours for what seems like forever, must get to it! Recently read The Year I Met You by Cecilia Ahern, and it was like that, gobbled it up and nothing fed my book appetite for a few days. Great post, thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

